My vision loss wasn’t a disability… until I allowed it to be.

Blindsight

Yesterday, I didn’t leave my house.  While that may not seem shocking or horrible, it is problematic to me.  In the past, I have stayed home all day with Netflix marathons or reading a book, but it was always by choice.

Yesterday was a beautiful day here in Toronto.  It was warm and sunny – the beginnings of a wonderful summer ahead.  I had grand designs of taking an audio book and reading in the park, or going for a stroll.  I had a whole, marvelous day ahead of me with no plans or obligations.  I woke up yesterday morning, sun streaming in the window, and planned all the ways that I could enjoy the lovely weather.

Instead, I didn’t leave my apartment.  Not because I didn’t want to, but because leaving my house seemed like an insurmountable obstacle.  I would have to deal with cars, and pedestrians, and cyclists. …

View original post 161 more words

Leave a Reply

