Day #236 – Best Intentions

366 Days of Autism

Last week a very dear friend contacted me.  Their nephew was heading to be tested…for what, they weren’t sure.  Here is what she knew…

He’s four
He doesn’t talk much
He has some peculiar behaviors

She’s a loyal reader and could easily read between the lines. I treasure her phone call.  She simply asked, “What can I do to support them?  How can I support them in this process?”

I didn’t call her back right away because I wanted to spend some time thinking.  I know people act (most of the time) with the best intentions in mind.  Knowing that I found myself thinking…how would I support someone?  What did others do for us?  What do I wish others would have done for us?

I think I’m ready – although this may be one of those posts that I go back and amend(this actually happens…so if my post is different…

View original post 1,241 more words

Leave a Reply

