Former Dodgers Hero Kirk Gibson Diagnosed With Parkinson’s Disease

93.1 Jack FM

LOS ANGELES (CBSLA.com/AP) — Dodgers legend Kirk Gibson has been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease, according to reports.

The 1988 National League MVP made the announcement Tuesday through Fox Sports Detroit, where he calls Tigers games, the Associated Press reported.

Gibson had not been in the broadcast booth since opening day April 6.

Tigers team officials released the following statement from Gibson:

“I have faced many different obstacles in my life, and have always maintained a strong belief that no matter the circumstances, I could overcome those obstacles. While this diagnosis poses a new kind of challenge for me, I intend to stay true to my beliefs.

“With the support of my family and friends, I will meet this challenge with the same determination and unwavering intensity that I have displayed in all of my endeavors in life. I look forward to being back at the ballpark as soon as…

View original post 61 more words

Leave a Reply

