Networking for those with disabilities

KIMT 3

[anvplayer video=”490893″ /]

ROCHESTER, Minn. – For those with disabilities, it can be hard to find work.

But a local group is hoping to change that. The Southern Minnesota Disability Employment Network met for the first time Wednesday morning in Rochester. Their goal is to both educate and help those with disabilities get jobs but also help businesses learn more about disabled workers.

We talked to the man in charge of the network and he tells us it’s taken a year to get everything together. He says it’s something he’s had to deal with also.

“I was raised by a dad with one arm and I thought I had an understanding of disabilities until I got involved in a local board here with Possibilities, Inc. I got involved in this conversation and I realized I had unconscious bias slapping me all over the head,” Chair of the Network Guy Finne says.

View original post 17 more words

Leave a Reply

