Struggling isn’t failing, a note to the general public.

learninganddisability

Today, something happened, that has happened countless times before and with no doubt will happen again. I was tutted at by a member of the public and insulted when supporting someone out and about.

The girl I support was putting her coat on after we had been out for lunch, she was struggling to get one of her arms into her coat, and I was simply encouraging her verbally. On the table next to us I overheard one woman say (so I could hear) to the other after tutting and rolling her eyes ‘ you would think she would give her a hand wouldn’t you?’

The girl that I support has essential tremor and can sometimes struggle with every day tasks such as getting dressed, but believe me, she can do it. What is more she enjoys doing it! over years of being over supported she has lost some of…

View original post 451 more words

Leave a Reply

